Florida Petty Theft Defense Lawyer
There is nothing "petty" about petit theft charges. Any theft conviction can result in jail, fines and restitution, license suspension, other penalties and a misdemeanor criminal record that may come back to haunt you.
At Ferrer Shane, PL, we take theft offenses seriously and work to avoid a conviction, if at all possible. If you are accused of shoplifting or otherwise taking property, contact us today for a free consultation. We have represented adults and juveniles throughout the Miami area and surrounding communities of South Florida.
First-degree petit theft is defined as the taking of property valued at more than $100 and less than $300. It is a first-degree misdemeanor carrying the possibility of up to one year in jail.
Second-degree petit theft is theft of property valued at less than $100. It is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail, fines, probation, and other penalties.
A second offense of petit theft is treated as a first-degree misdemeanor, regardless of the value of property. A third offense is a third-degree felony with a possible prison term of one to five years.
Any petit theft conviction can also result in driver's license suspension: up to six months on a first offense and up to one year on subsequent offenses.
We have handled many petit theft scenarios:
- Shoplifting and employee theft
- Thefts at school or the workplace
- Theft of items from cars or yards
- Theft of services ("dine and dash," gas station drive-off)
- Keeping someone's misplaced property as your own
About Shoplifting Charges
Shoplifting, or retail theft, can be a misdemeanor or a felony crime, depending on the value of stolen merchandise and prior theft convictions. Always consult an attorney before admitting to shoplifting. In addition to criminal penalties, the merchant or business can sue for civil damages. We may also be able to negotiate restitution in lieu of criminal charges.
If you are accused of any theft offense, call our Miami office at 305-262-2728 or 888-609-5947 for a free consultation. We will explore all possible defenses or reasons to dismiss charges, and explore alternative dispositions to keep this off of your record.